The caregiver’s invoice arrives, but the insurance payment does not. After years of paying premiums, a denial can leave you questioning how to pay for assistance that has already become part of daily life. Long-term care insurance pays benefits for covered care when policy requirements are met, often involving physical limitations or cognitive impairment. An appeal asks the insurer to reconsider its decision using the policy language and supporting evidence.
A denial does not necessarily end your claim. Start by identifying the reason, checking deadlines, and gathering records that address the insurer’s objections. At The Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz, we represent policyholders facing disputed insurance benefits. Schedule a consultation with us promptly so we can review your denial and determine what your appeal needs before the filing deadline.
Identify Exactly What the Insurer Disputed
Read the denial alongside your complete policy, including endorsements and amendments. The insurer may dispute whether you meet a benefit trigger, whether your caregiver qualifies, whether the waiting period has ended, or whether required documentation was submitted. These issues call for different responses; simply repeating that care is necessary may leave the stated objection unanswered.
Our long term care insurance attorney can compare the insurer’s explanation with the actual contract requirements. Request the specific provisions relied upon and copies of assessments or other materials supporting the decision. Keep the denial letter, its envelope, and any electronic delivery notice to document when you received it.
Also distinguish a coverage denial from a request for missing information. If the insurer says records are incomplete, ask which documents are needed and whether the claim remains pending. Record every response rather than relying on an adjuster’s verbal assurance.
Confirm Deadlines Before Gathering More Records
There is no single appeal deadline that applies to every long-term care policy. Review the denial notice, policy procedures, and any applicable plan documents immediately. Calendar both the appeal deadline and potential lawsuit deadlines, which may differ.
Employer involvement can raise questions about the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, or ERISA. Its application depends on the arrangement, and long-term care coverage should not automatically be treated like disability income insurance. The U.S. Department of Labor’s claims guidance distinguishes benefit categories and procedural requirements. Our insurance denial attorney can determine which rules govern your claim and whether an administrative appeal is required before litigation.
Do not assume that requesting records or discussing the denial extends a deadline. Obtain written confirmation of any extension and legal advice about its effect. Waiting for a doctor’s report can otherwise consume time you need to submit a timely response.
Document the Assistance You Actually Need
A diagnosis alone may not establish eligibility. The evidence should explain what assistance or supervision is required, how often it is needed, and when those limitations began. Ask treating providers to connect their findings to the policy’s benefit criteria.
The California Department of Insurance’s long-term care guide explains that tax-qualified policies use benefit triggers involving substantial assistance with at least two specified daily activities or substantial supervision because of severe cognitive impairment. Other conditions, including certification and a care plan, may apply. Our long term care insurance lawyer can identify the evidence needed under your particular policy.
Useful supporting materials may include:
- Medical records and assessments describing functional limitations or cognitive impairment.
- Caregiver logs showing specific assistance, frequency, and safety concerns.
- A current care plan, provider information, invoices, and proof of payment.
Describe ordinary days accurately. If someone can dress independently only occasionally, explain that variation rather than presenting an isolated successful attempt as the usual level of functioning. For cognitive impairment, document the supervision needed even when physical abilities remain intact.
Check Waiting Periods and Provider Requirements
An elimination period is the waiting period before covered benefits become payable. Policies may count calendar days or qualifying service days differently. Compare the insurer’s calculation with care dates and the contract’s counting method.
Our insurance claim attorney can review whether the dispute concerns eligibility, timing, or reimbursement. A qualifying medical condition does not automatically make every expense payable; provider requirements, covered settings, benefit limits, and exclusions also matter. Our practice areas include representation involving insurance benefit disputes.
Continue keeping invoices while the appeal is pending. If a relative submits documents for the policyholder, confirm that the insurer has any necessary authorization. Missing signatures or unclear authority can create avoidable processing problems.
Keep premium payments current unless a valid waiver applies. A pending appeal does not itself eliminate premium obligations. If the insurer disputes a waiver, review that issue separately so a benefits disagreement does not also become a lapse dispute.
Submit an Appeal That Answers Each Objection
Organize the appeal around the reasons given in the denial. Identify the claim number, disputed decision, requested benefits, relevant provisions, and supporting documents. Explain how each record addresses a particular objection instead of sending an unexplained stack of medical files.
Our denied insurance claim lawyer can help present that connection clearly and identify gaps before submission. Kevin M. Zietz’s attorney profile provides background on his insurance litigation practice. Follow the required submission method, retain the complete appeal package, and obtain delivery confirmation.
Assess Your Options if the Denial Continues
A second denial warrants review of the insurer’s reasoning and available remedies. Depending on the governing law and facts, further action may involve additional review, a regulatory complaint, or litigation. An incorrect denial does not automatically establish insurance bad faith.
Our insurance dispute attorney can evaluate the claim handling, remaining deadlines, and possible next steps. A complaint should not be treated as a substitute for a required appeal or assumed to pause litigation deadlines.
Put Your Claim in a Position for Meaningful Review
Care expenses continue while coverage remains disputed, making a focused legal review valuable before another deadline passes. The Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz can assess your policy, identify weaknesses in the denial, and advise you on pursuing available benefits. Bring your denial letter and policy, and contact us today to discuss your next step.
Medical evidence often determines whether long-term disability (LTD) benefits are approved, denied, or terminated, because insurers evaluate whether documented limitations satisfy the policy’s requirements. As such, records showing a diagnosis may leave important questions unanswered when they do not explain how symptoms interfere with sustained work and occupational duties.
For Los Angeles LTD claims, developing the medical record as soon as possible helps address those questions before the insurer reaches its final decision.
The Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz assists claimants with employer-sponsored disability plans and individual policies, including disputes involving incomplete or misunderstood medical evidence.
Clarify the Medical Evidence That Supports Your Disability Claim
Your documentation should connect medical findings, functional restrictions, and occupational demands, while addressing the period for which you are requesting disability benefits. Record symptom frequency and recovery time between appointments, then share accurate examples with your provider so the treatment notes reflect your daily limitations.
You can start by obtaining your policy and, for an employer-sponsored plan, the Summary Plan Description, then identify the disability definition, proof requirements, and applicable deadlines.
Under an own occupation definition, evidence generally addresses material occupational duties; an any occupation definition may require medical and vocational evidence addressing other work specified by the policy.
Next, request records from every provider treating conditions that contribute to your disability, covering the period before you stopped working and subsequent treatment. You should organize your records by provider and date, then compare them with the insurer’s requests to identify missing visits or reports before submitting the completed claim file. Relevant documents may include the following records, depending on your condition and the evidence needed to explain your restrictions and limitations:
- Office visit notes;
- Imaging and laboratory reports;
- Hospital and surgical records; and
- Rehabilitation and therapy records.
Maintain copies of each submission and request confirmation of receipt, because signing a medical authorization does not guarantee that the insurer obtained every record.
What Needs to be Discussed Regarding Medical Support?
When requesting medical support, ask your treating physician to explain your physical and cognitive limitations, including whether you can perform occupational duties reliably throughout a normal work schedule.
It is important for claimants to provide their job description and request an explanation of how clinical findings, symptoms, medication effects, and expected duration support those restrictions throughout a workday and workweek. For example, if your occupation requires prolonged computer work, ask the physician to explain how limited sitting tolerance or impaired concentration affects that requirement.
Furthermore, discussing additional testing with your treating provider could clarify disputed limitations and whether the evaluation is appropriate for your condition. Testing options may include functional capacity evaluations or neuropsychological assessments, but the appropriate evaluation depends on the condition and the questions requiring clarification.
For conditions such as fibromyalgia or chronic fatigue syndrome, ask your provider to explain relevant clinical findings and functional effects when definitive diagnostic testing is unavailable.
Also review records for factual errors, unexplained treatment gaps, or statements suggesting improvement, and ask your provider to correct inaccuracies or clarify entries when appropriate. Explain documented barriers to treatment, such as lost insurance or medication intolerance, and describe whether improvement actually restored your ability to sustain occupational activities.
If benefits are denied, request the relevant claim documents and medical reviews, then compare the insurer’s stated reasons with the evidence already submitted. Ask your physician to address disputed findings and missing information, and submit those responses with your appeal within the deadline identified in the denial letter.
Claims governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act generally allow at least 180 days after receipt of the denial to appeal.
Building the Administrative Record and Why Does It Matter
Employer-sponsored claims governed by federal employee-benefit law require attention to the administrative record, because later federal court review generally focuses on the evidence developed during the claim and appeal process. Submit supporting medical opinions and occupational evidence before the final administrative decision, since opportunities to introduce additional evidence during litigation may be limited.
Individual disability policies generally fall under California law, which can provide different claims procedures and litigation rules from those governing employer-sponsored plans.
Simply Reviewing Your Long-Term Disability Evidence Goes a Long Way
Before submitting your claim or appeal, check that the evidence explains your limitations, addresses policy requirements, and covers the entire period at issue. The Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz can review your policy, medical documentation, and denial letter to identify omissions or questions requiring further medical support.
If you need assistance evaluating your claim record, schedule a consultation with the Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz or call 818-981-9200 to request a free initial consultation.
Losing your job because a mental health condition affects your work can interrupt your income while treatment remains necessary. Long-term disability (LTD) benefits may replace some lost earnings, but eligibility depends on your coverage, medical evidence, and the definition of disability governing your claim.
As for pushing for an LTD claim, your job loss alone does not establish disability, and employment ending does not necessarily eliminate a claim arising while insurance coverage remained active. The Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz assists California claimants with disability insurance applications, denied claims, and benefit terminations.
How to Protect Your Mental Health Disability Benefits?
To start, your mental health disability claim should connect the condition, its effect on your ability to work, and the requirements of the benefit program involved.
You should carefully review coverage and when exactly the disability took effect.
Requesting your employer’s disability policy, Summary Plan Description, and coverage records can identify when insurance ended and which filing deadlines apply. Claimants should document when symptoms prevented them from working, because coverage may depend on becoming disabled before employment ended, subject to the policy’s specific terms.
Additionally, the insurer may evaluate coverage based on your last day worked, when disabling symptoms began, and the disability termination date.
Why Documenting Symptoms and Acquired Functional Limitations are Important
Your statement should explain how symptoms affected your concentration, judgment, attendance, interactions, or the ability to sustain tasks across a workday and workweek. Your treatment records should also address symptom frequency and severity, since occasional improvement does not necessarily establish capacity for occupational duties.
Conditions that may support mental health disability claims, depending on their documented severity and the applicable eligibility standard, include:
- Major depressive disorder;
- Generalized anxiety disorder;
- Bipolar disorder; and
- Post-traumatic stress disorder.
Consequently, you should preserve job descriptions, attendance records, performance evaluations, and accommodation requests, because these documents can help connect your medical limitations to occupational demands. Under an own occupation definition, the question generally involves your ability to perform material occupational duties; an any occupation definition may assess other work permitted by the policy.
Reviewing Mental Health Limits and Policy Terms
These are sometimes overlooked but are extremely valuable when needed.
Since some policies restrict payments for mental health conditions to 24 months, you should read the policy’s waiting period, treatment requirements, exclusions, and mental illness limitation. There may be exceptions but that depends on the policy wording, and medical evidence of additional physical impairments may be relevant when determining whether the limitation applies to your disability.
Claimants are also advised to evaluate other disability benefit programs.
California State Disability Insurance provides temporary wage replacement to eligible workers, including those with qualifying mental health conditions supported by medical certification. Eligibility generally requires wage loss, sufficient covered earnings, and working or seeking work when disability began; claims ordinarily must be filed within 49 days.
Social Security Disability Insurance requires sufficient work credits and a medically supported inability to perform substantial gainful work lasting or expected to last at least 12 months, unless death is expected. Supplemental Security Income may be available to qualifying disabled individuals with limited income and resources, even without the work history required for Social Security Disability Insurance.
Unemployment benefits generally require being able and available for work, so accurately describe your work capacity rather than assuming these programs have identical eligibility requirements.
You should note of the deadline periods concerning response to denials as well.
If your employer-sponsored disability claim falls under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, you generally have at least 180 days after receiving a denial to appeal. You need to request the claim file, identify the reasons for denial, and submit evidence addressing those reasons before the deadline stated in the denial letter.
Why Building the Administrative Record Matters
In these claims, federal court review generally focuses on the administrative record developed during the claim and appeal process, although exceptions depend on the circumstances and judicial review standard.
Submitting medical opinions, occupational documentation, and supporting statements before the final administrative decision can restrict your opportunity to introduce missing evidence.
Get Legal Guidance on Mental Health Disability Benefits
The Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz can review your policy, employment timeline, medical records, and denial letter to identify issues requiring additional evidence.
We help discuss disability benefits after job loss, which depend on supported functional limitations, applicable coverage, and compliance with the requirements governing each claim you pursue.
If you need guidance about an application or denied claim, contact the Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz to schedule your free initial consultation.
When an insurance company rescinds a policy, it is doing more than simply canceling coverage. Rescission generally means the insurer is taking the position that the policy should be treated as though it never existed.
That can have significant consequences. A pending claim may be denied, future coverage may be canceled, and premiums paid under the policy may be refunded or offered for refund.
But an insurer’s decision to rescind a policy is not necessarily the final word. California law imposes requirements on rescission, and you should carefully examine the insurer’s reasons.
Why Do Insurance Companies Rescind Policies?
Rescission disputes often arise when an insurer alleges that an application contained inaccurate or incomplete information.
Under California Insurance Code Section 359, a false representation in an insurance application may support rescission if it concerns a material point. California law also permits rescission for material concealment in appropriate circumstances, even when the concealment is not intentional.
That means an insurer need not necessarily prove that the applicant deliberately tried to deceive the company. But it still must establish the legal grounds necessary to justify rescission.
What Makes Information “Material”?
Materiality is often one of the most important issues in a rescission dispute.
Under California Insurance Code Section 334, materiality generally turns on the probable and reasonable influence the information would have had on the insurer in evaluating the proposed insurance contract. In practical terms, the question may be whether truthful or complete information would have affected the insurer’s decision to issue the policy, accept the risk, or set the premium.
For disability or life insurance, disputed information may include medical history, diagnoses, treatment, medications, occupation, income, or other information requested during underwriting.
Importantly, the alleged misrepresentation need not necessarily relate to the loss that ultimately produces the claim. The central question is whether the information was material to the insurer’s original underwriting decision.
An Incorrect Answer Does Not Automatically Resolve the Case
An insurer’s discovery of an inaccurate answer on an application does not necessarily end the analysis.
The application should be reviewed carefully. What exactly did the insurer ask? Was the question clear? What did the applicant know at the time? Did the applicant provide additional information elsewhere? Did the insurer already have relevant information? Would the allegedly omitted information have actually affected underwriting?
California courts have recognized that an applicant’s knowledge, the wording of the questions, and the actual significance of the information can be relevant when determining whether rescission is justified.
The underwriting file can therefore be particularly important. It may reveal what information the insurer considered when issuing the policy and whether the information now cited as grounds for rescission would have changed the insurer’s decision.
Rescission Can Result in a Claim Denial
Rescission often becomes an issue only after the insured submits a significant claim.
Instead of simply disputing whether the particular claim is covered, the insurer may assert that the entire policy is invalid because of information provided—or allegedly omitted—when the policy was purchased.
This can turn a claim dispute into a fight over whether the insurance policy even existed in the first place.
Life Insurance Rescission
Life insurance claims can present especially difficult rescission issues because the dispute may arise after the insured has died. The beneficiary may suddenly have to address allegations about an application completed years earlier.
An insurer investigating a life insurance claim may compare the application with medical records and other information gathered during the investigation. If it identifies what it considers a material misrepresentation or omission, it may attempt to deny the death benefit and rescind the policy.
These cases require careful attention to the policy’s contestability provisions, the timing of the claim, the application questions, the insured’s medical history, and the insurer’s underwriting standards.
Can an Improper Rescission Constitute Insurance Bad Faith?
Potentially, depending on the circumstances.
Not every incorrect or disputed rescission amounts to insurance bad faith. But questions may arise about whether the insurer conducted a reasonable investigation, fairly considered information supporting coverage, properly interpreted the application and policy, and had a reasonable basis for its decision.
Employer-sponsored insurance governed by ERISA raises additional issues because federal law may govern the claim process and substantially affect the remedies available.
What Should You Do After Receiving a Rescission Notice?
Keep the rescission letter, policy, original application, amendments, premium records, claim forms, medical or financial information provided to the insurer, and communications with the insurer or the insurance agent.
Do not assume that the insurer’s characterization of an application answer is necessarily correct. The precise wording of the application, the information available at the time of completion, and the insurer’s underwriting records may all be important.
Deadlines also matter. Depending on the type of insurance, contractual limitation periods, administrative appeal requirements, or ERISA deadlines may affect your rights.
A Rescission Notice Is Not Necessarily the Last Word
The Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz represents individuals in California whose insurance benefits have been delayed, underpaid, disputed, or denied.
If an insurance company has attempted to rescind your policy due to an alleged application error, we can review the application, policy, underwriting history, claim file, and stated grounds for rescission to determine whether the insurer’s position is supported by the facts and applicable law.
If your insurance coverage has been rescinded or your claim has been denied because of an alleged misrepresentation or omission, contact the Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz to discuss your claim and the options that may be available.

Long-term disability claims depend heavily on documentation. It is not enough to establish that a claimant has been diagnosed with a medical condition. The evidence should also demonstrate how that condition affects the claimant’s ability to perform the duties required under the disability policy.
This distinction is particularly important under employer-sponsored group long-term disability (LTD) policies. Many group LTD policies initially define Total Disability by reference to the claimant’s “Own Occupation.” Under this standard, which commonly applies during the first 24 months of disability benefits, the question is generally whether the claimant’s medical condition prevents the claimant from performing the material duties of his or her pre-disability occupation. After that period, many policies transition to a more demanding “Any Occupation” standard, under which the claimant must establish an inability to perform another occupation that satisfies the particular requirements stated in the policy.
For that reason, a strong LTD claim requires more than medical records. The claim file should contain evidence addressing the claimant’s medical condition, resulting restrictions and limitations, occupational requirements, and, when necessary, the claimant’s ability to perform other occupations.
There is another reason why developing this evidence early is especially important in claims governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). The goal, of course, is to present sufficient evidence for the claim administrator to approve the claim initially or, following a denial, to overturn that decision on administrative appeal. But if the administrator maintains its denial and the claimant later files a lawsuit in federal court, the court’s review generally will be limited to the administrative record developed during the claim and appeal process.
In practical terms, the administrative appeal may be the claimant’s last meaningful opportunity to submit medical, occupational, vocational, and other evidence supporting the claim before litigation begins. A claimant therefore should not assume that missing evidence can simply be produced later if a lawsuit becomes necessary.
Assembling and presenting this evidence effectively can be complex. Kevin M. Zietz, a California long-term disability attorney, represents individuals with employer-sponsored group disability plans, including plans governed by ERISA, as well as individuals with private disability insurance policies.
Important Evidence to Prove Long-Term Disability
LTD insurance generally replaces a portion of a claimant’s income when an illness, injury, or other covered impairment prevents the claimant from working as defined by the policy. The insurer or claim administrator does not determine disability solely by asking whether a physician has diagnosed a medical condition. Instead, it evaluates whether the evidence establishes that the claimant satisfies the policy’s particular definition of disability.
A well-developed claim therefore should connect three things: the claimant’s medical condition, the resulting functional restrictions and limitations, and the occupational duties the claimant is unable to perform.
1. Medical Records and Diagnostic Evidence
Medical documentation forms the foundation of most long-term disability claims. Claim administrators commonly review medical records to determine the severity of an impairment, treatment history, reported symptoms, clinical findings, and whether the evidence supports the claimant’s asserted restrictions and limitations.
Depending on the medical condition, useful documentation may include:
- MRI, CT scan, X-ray, and other imaging reports;
- laboratory and diagnostic test results;
- surgical and hospitalization records;
- physical or occupational therapy records;
- medication histories; and
- records from specialists treating the disabling conditions.
Medical records should cover the relevant period rather than merely documenting the initial diagnosis. Consistent documentation can help establish how symptoms and functional limitations have continued or changed over time. This can be especially important for conditions involving pain, fatigue, cognitive impairment, or other symptoms that may not be established by a single definitive diagnostic test.
Claimants should also make sure that the administrator has received records from all providers treating conditions that contribute to the disability, rather than assuming the administrator has obtained a complete medical record on its own.
2. Treating Physician Statements and Functional Limitations
A treating physician’s opinion can provide information that ordinary medical charts do not fully explain. A physician may address the claimant’s diagnoses, symptoms, prognosis, treatment, restrictions, limitations, and ability to function consistently throughout a workday and workweek.
The distinction between a diagnosis and a functional limitation is critical.
For example, stating that a claimant has degenerative disc disease does not necessarily establish why the claimant cannot work. The evidence may also need to address limitations involving sitting, standing, walking, lifting, carrying, reaching, bending, using a computer, concentrating, maintaining attendance, or performing tasks reliably throughout a normal workday.
The same principle applies to other medical conditions. A claimant experiencing chronic pain, fatigue, medication side effects, or cognitive impairment may have difficulty sustaining activity even if the claimant can perform a particular task for a short period of time.
Depending on the circumstances, additional evidence such as a functional capacity evaluation, neuropsychological testing, cognitive assessment, or other specialized evaluation may help objectively document functional impairment.
The appropriate evidence depends upon the claimant’s medical conditions, occupational demands, and the language of the disability policy. There is no single checklist that applies to every LTD claim.
3. Employment and Occupational Documentation
Medical evidence establishes what a claimant can and cannot do. Occupational evidence establishes what the claimant’s occupation requires. Both sides of that equation are necessary when determining whether a claimant satisfies an Own Occupation definition of disability.
Claimants should therefore consider submitting their official job description along with other documentation concerning the physical and cognitive requirements of their pre-disability occupation.
Relevant evidence may include:
- the employer’s official job description;
- detailed descriptions of the claimant’s actual occupational duties;
- physical requirements such as sitting, standing, walking, lifting, carrying, reaching, or travel;
- cognitive requirements such as concentration, decision-making, multitasking, communication, and meeting deadlines;
- work schedules and hours;
- attendance records;
- earnings information;
- performance expectations; and
- documentation of accommodations or modifications attempted before the claimant stopped working.
A generic occupational title may not adequately describe what the occupation actually requires. A position classified as “sedentary,” for example, may nevertheless require prolonged sitting, sustained concentration, extensive computer use, frequent interaction with clients or coworkers, significant responsibility, strict deadlines, travel, or the ability to work consistently for long hours.
The objective is to provide enough information to permit a meaningful comparison between the claimant’s medically supported restrictions and limitations and the material duties of the occupation.
4. Vocational Evidence and the Any Occupation Standard
Vocational evidence can become particularly important when an LTD policy transitions from an Own Occupation definition of disability to an Any Occupation definition.
Under an Any Occupation standard, the issue is no longer limited to whether the claimant can return to his or her former occupation. The administrator may evaluate whether the claimant can perform other occupations based upon factors specified in the policy, which may include the claimant’s education, training, experience, functional capacity, and potential earnings.
Claim administrators frequently employ vocational consultants to conduct these assessments. The vocational consultant may rely upon restrictions and limitations identified by physicians retained by the administrator to review the claimant’s medical records and then perform an employability analysis, transferable skills analysis, or labor market analysis identifying occupations the administrator contends the claimant can perform.
These analyses should be reviewed carefully.
For example, an employability analysis may be questionable if it relies upon physical or cognitive capabilities that are inconsistent with the claimant’s treating physicians’ opinions or other evidence in the record. There may also be questions concerning whether the identified occupations are consistent with the claimant’s education, training, experience, earnings history, or the specific requirements of the LTD policy.
When an administrator relies upon vocational evidence to deny or terminate benefits, it may be appropriate to retain an independent vocational consultant to evaluate and respond to that analysis. A vocational expert may be able to identify incorrect assumptions, unrealistic occupational requirements, conflicts with medically supported limitations, or other deficiencies in the administrator’s vocational conclusions.
If such vocational evidence is necessary, it generally should be submitted during the administrative claim or appeal process, rather than waiting until litigation.
5. LTD Policy, Claim File, and Denial Letters
Claimants should keep copies of the disability insurance policy, Summary Plan Description when applicable, claim forms, correspondence with the administrator, benefit statements, requests for additional information, and any denial or termination letters.
These documents establish the rules governing the claim. Policy language may determine:
- the applicable definition of disability;
- when an Own Occupation definition changes to an Any Occupation definition;
- the elimination period;
- exclusions and limitations;
- benefit calculations;
- proof requirements;
- offsets for other income;
- claim and appeal procedures; and
- applicable deadlines.
If an employer-sponsored LTD plan is governed by ERISA, federal claim procedures become especially important. Following an adverse disability-benefit determination, claimants generally must be provided at least 180 days to appeal. The ERISA claim regulations also provide important rights to obtain relevant claim documents and submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim.
The appeal should therefore be viewed as much more than an opportunity to send a letter arguing that the administrator reached the wrong decision. It is an opportunity to determine why the claim was denied, identify weaknesses or omissions in the existing administrative record, and submit evidence addressing those issues before the administrator makes its final decision.
6. Personal Statements and Other Supporting Evidence
Some disabling symptoms are difficult to communicate through diagnostic testing and physician records alone. Pain, fatigue, cognitive difficulties, medication side effects, unpredictable symptoms, and mental health impairments may affect a claimant’s ability to work even when a medical record does not fully capture their day-to-day impact.
A detailed claimant statement can explain how symptoms affect ordinary activities and work-related functioning. Depending on the circumstances, statements from family members, coworkers, supervisors, or others with firsthand knowledge may also provide useful observations.
These statements should not simply assert that the claimant is “disabled.” They are generally more useful when they provide concrete examples of functional difficulties—for example, how long the claimant can sit before needing to change position, what happens after physical activity, whether concentration deteriorates over time, or why symptoms interfere with maintaining a predictable work schedule.
The goal is not to substitute personal accounts for medical evidence. Rather, these materials can provide context demonstrating how documented medical impairments translate into functional problems outside the examination room.
Why Building the Administrative Record Matters in an ERISA LTD Claim
For claimants covered by ERISA-governed LTD plans, there is an important strategic reason to develop all of this evidence before the administrative process ends.
If an LTD claim is denied and the denial is upheld on administrative appeal, the claimant may have the right to bring a lawsuit in federal court. However, unlike many other lawsuits, an ERISA disability case generally does not provide an unrestricted opportunity to conduct discovery and introduce new evidence.
Instead, depending upon the applicable standard of judicial review and the circumstances of the case, the federal court’s review will generally focus on the administrative record—the body of evidence that was before the claim administrator when it made its final claim decision.
That makes the administrative claim and appeal process critically important.
Medical records, treating physician opinions, diagnostic testing, occupational evidence, claimant statements, vocational reports, and other relevant evidence should be considered for submission while the administrative record is still being developed. Waiting until after the final denial may make it difficult, and in some cases impossible, to have important evidence considered by the court.
The objective is therefore twofold: first, to provide the administrator with the strongest possible evidence so that benefits are approved without litigation; and second, if the administrator nevertheless denies the claim, to create the strongest possible administrative record for federal court review.
Build a Strong Long-Term Disability Claim Through Documentation
A well-documented long-term disability claim should tell a consistent and complete story: what medical conditions exist, what symptoms and functional limitations those conditions cause, what the claimant’s occupation requires, and why the claimant’s restrictions and limitations satisfy the disability policy’s definition of Total Disability.
As the claim progresses, that analysis may change. During the Own Occupation period, the focus may be on why the claimant cannot perform the material duties of the pre-disability occupation. When the policy transitions to an Any Occupation definition, medical and vocational evidence may become increasingly important in determining whether there are other occupations the claimant can realistically perform within the requirements established by the policy.
For an ERISA-governed LTD claim, developing that evidence during the administrative process is particularly important because the record created before the final administrative decision may ultimately determine what evidence a federal court can consider.
The Law Offices of Kevin M. Zietz has represented individuals in long-term disability matters for more than 25 years. If you are preparing an LTD claim, responding to a claim administrator’s request for information, appealing a denial, or dealing with the termination of benefits, our California long-term disability attorney can review the policy and existing claim record and determine what additional medical, occupational, vocational, or other evidence may be important to your claim.
Contact us online or call 818-981-9200 to schedule a free initial consultation.
A serious illness or injury can put two benefit systems in front of the same person: long-term disability benefits and Social Security Disability Insurance. Long-term disability, often called LTD, is usually paid under a workplace or individual insurance policy. SSDI is a federal benefit for people with enough work history whose condition stops or limits work. The two can operate together, but one may affect the other. The Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz helps claimants understand how policy language, medical proof, offsets, and deadlines can affect disability income when benefits are delayed, reduced, or denied.
If an insurer is pushing for an SSDI application, reducing LTD payments, or claiming an overpayment, do not wait until the deadline is close. Review the policy, denial letter, and SSDI paperwork before the record becomes harder to correct. For a disputed insurance claim, contact us today for a free initial consultation.
The Direct Answer
Long-term disability and SSDI interact because many LTD policies treat SSDI as “other income.” That means the insurer may subtract SSDI from the monthly LTD benefit. If a policy pays $4,000 per month and SSDI pays $1,600, the insurer may reduce LTD to $2,400, depending on the policy wording. An approved SSDI claim can support disability, but it does not automatically win an LTD claim.
That difference matters because the standards are not always identical. The Social Security Administration describes disability benefits as monthly payments for people with a condition that stops or limits work and who have enough work history. A private policy may use an “own occupation” standard, then later shift to an “any occupation” standard. Our long term disability attorney can review whether the insurer is using the right definition at the right time.
Why LTD Insurers Often Ask Claimants to Apply for SSDI
Many LTD policies require the claimant to apply for SSDI or cooperate with a vendor chosen by the insurer. The reason is financial. If SSDI is approved, the insurer may receive the benefit of an offset and pay less each month under the policy.
This request can create pressure for the claimant. The SSDI file may include forms, work history statements, medical records, and agency findings that the insurer later reviews. A statement written without context can affect both claims. Our social security disability attorney can help claimants see how one filing may be read in the other benefit process.
Offsets and Overpayments
The most common financial interaction is the SSDI offset. Some policies offset the claimant’s SSDI only. Others may also offset dependent benefits paid because of the claimant’s disability. The policy controls, so the first step is reading the benefit formula and overpayment provision.
Back pay can create another issue. SSDI often begins after a waiting period and may include retroactive benefits. If the LTD carrier paid full benefits during that same period, the insurer may demand repayment. Before sending money back, the claimant should ask whether the calculation is correct and whether the insurer included only benefits allowed by the policy. Our disability attorney can review the math and contract language before a repayment demand becomes accepted as final.
Approval by Social Security Does Not End the LTD Dispute
An SSDI award can be powerful evidence, but LTD insurers may still deny, terminate, or reduce benefits. They may argue that Social Security used a different standard, reviewed different records, or did not address the policy’s occupational test. In ERISA-governed claims, the administrative record often becomes central if the dispute goes to court.
The U.S. Department of Labor states that disability claims under covered plans must be reviewed within required time limits, and denied claims generally have appeal rights under plan procedures. A claimant should not assume that an SSDI approval letter alone will fix an LTD denial. Our SSDI lawyer can help align the medical, vocational, and policy evidence so the LTD file does not leave major gaps.
Medical Proof Must Work for Both Systems
Both systems depend on medical evidence, but they may ask different questions. SSA looks at whether the person meets federal disability rules. An LTD insurer looks at the policy definition, restrictions, limitations, job duties, and sometimes surveillance, file reviews, or vocational opinions.
A strong record should explain more than diagnosis. It should show how symptoms affect sitting, standing, walking, lifting, concentration, attendance, pace, stamina, medication side effects, and reliable work performance. The practice areas handled by the firm include group disability insurance claims, individual disability insurance claims, insurance bad faith claims, and ERISA claims.
ERISA Deadlines and Claim Strategy
Many employer-sponsored LTD plans are governed by ERISA. These claims have strict administrative appeal rules. The Department of Labor publication on disability benefit claims explains that claimants generally have at least 180 days to appeal a denied disability claim. Missing that window can seriously limit legal options.
The appeal should answer the insurer’s stated reasons for denial, not just restate that the claimant is disabled. It may need updated records, physician statements, job descriptions, vocational evidence, and Social Security materials. Our long term disability lawyer can help shape the appeal around the policy terms and proof needed to challenge a denial.
Why California Claimants Should Review Both Files Together
For claimants in California, the problem is often not one isolated denial. It is the pressure of lost wages, treatment, insurer letters, SSDI forms, and repayment demands. A decision in one file can affect how the other file is viewed, even when the legal standards differ.
Kevin M. Zietz has represented individuals denied benefits under disability, long-term care, and life insurance policies for more than 25 years. The attorney profile explains that his clients often paid premiums for years before the insurer decided benefits were not payable. Our social security disability lawyer can help claimants avoid treating SSDI and LTD as separate problems when the documents, deadlines, and evidence overlap.
Make the Two Claims Work Together
LTD and SSDI benefits can provide needed income when a medical condition takes away the ability to work, but the interaction between them can cost money if the policy, offset, appeal record, and medical proof are not handled carefully. A claimant may be approved by Social Security and still face an LTD reduction, repayment demand, or termination. The Law Office of Kevin M. Zietz reviews disputed disability insurance claims with attention to the policy, the record, and the insurer’s stated reasons. For help with a denied, delayed, reduced, or underpaid claim, contact us today and have our firm review the insurer’s position before more deadlines pass.